Meet IHC’s Volunteer Director: Treacy Stuck

Name: Treacy Stucktreacy

Age: 22

Place of Birth: Sioux Falls, SD

Occupation: Volunteer Director

Personal Details: I recently graduated from the University of Richmond in May 2009. I love spending time outdoors, running and spending time with friends. I also enjoy all types of music and enjoy hearing and learning about new musical artists, both nationally and locally known.

Primary Role at IHC: As Volunteer Director, I am constantly working to recruit new volunteers to get involved with IHC. I manage the base of non-medical volunteers, coordinating volunteer coverage for the logistical and supportive needs of the patients that we bring to Richmond. I am also the head of IHC’s internship program, which involves recruiting new interns as well as managing current intern assignments.

What I enjoy most about IHC? I love that a large part of my job deals with recruitment—I really enjoy informing others about IHC, what we do, and getting them excited to be involved in any capacity. What I especially love is having the knowledge that the work I am doing each day with IHC is having a direct impact on an individual’s life. It’s an incredible feeling and I feel very fortunate to be a part of IHC’s staff.

What do you think everyone should know about IHC? Something that I find extremely impressive about IHC is its strong partnership within our partner countries. It truly is a collaborative effort between countries and cultures that is maintained with careful communication on each end.

Memorable experiences about working at IHC: One of my most memorable experiences while working at IHC occurred while I was transporting a patient and her guardian from the hospital to the Hospital Hospitality House. The patient had come to Richmond for heart surgery and was on the last leg of her treatment in the U.S. and would soon be able to return home to the Caribbean. Her guardian looked at me and thanked me for all of the work everyone at IHC does. She talked emotionally about how grateful she was of IHC’s existence and how IHC was able to find her daughter and help her. She then told me that she would miss everyone at IHC and loved us all. It was in that moment I realized the work I do at IHC feels nothing at all like work. Being involved in patients’ lives as well as encouraging more volunteers and interns to be involved in is something I love to do. I am thrilled to be a part of an organization that touches so many individuals everyday!

One Response to Meet IHC’s Volunteer Director: Treacy Stuck

  1. Hello

    How re you doing?? my name is Emmanuel i am from Africa Ghana n a tourist guide i also work for the Social Ghana Work which is an NGO which help’s the needy,less opportunist n i would love to get to know you be friend’s with you i read on a site that you also in the same field as me n i think it would be wonderful to talk to you could check out our site it: http://www.socialworkghana.org looking forward to read from you

Leave a Reply

