Meet IHC Summer Interns Venkat & Kate

Name Venkat Subramanyam 

Age 19

Occupation Rising Junior at Virginia Tech

Place of Birth Rockville, MD

How did you first get involved with IHC? How did you hear about IHC? I first learned about IHC through my sister, who works at another non-profit in downtown Richmond, when she suggested that I take a look at some of the success stories on the IHC blog. After looking at the website, I became very interested in getting involved and began to research internship opportunities.

What was your first impression of IHC? How did you imagine your day to day work activities to go? My first impression of IHC was that all the people were incredibly passionate about the work that they are doing – from the employees to the volunteers. I thought that I would fit in well, seeing as I had just returned from a study abroad trip in the Dominican Republic where I witnessed first-hand the types of people that IHC was helping with their work. I knew that the day-to-day activities would encompass more than sitting at a desk, but I did not become aware of just how dynamic the work was until I experienced it.

What do you hope to learn while interning at IHC? I hope to learn the ins and outs of the non-profit while also gaining insight into the intricacies of healthcare in developing countries. Though I deal primarily with the patients in Richmond through the We Bring program, I want to learn more about the other programs at IHC – especially We Capacity-Build. As a Biology major, I am interested in a potential career in the healthcare field so interning at IHC is a great way to explore many of the different options available.

What are your feelings about your internship at IHC? Apprehensive? Prepared? More so than any other feeling, I am excited to see what my internship at IHC will bring. There is a little bit of apprehension not knowing what to expect on any given day of work, but that is the beauty of what I will be doing. 

What do you expect will be your greatest challenge in interning at IHC? My greatest challenge, I think, will be educating myself on the various conditions that IHC patients come to Richmond with. I want to become familiar with not only the patients themselves, but also with the surgeries and procedures that they are having while in town. This way I can be knowledgeable when I am speaking with the families or the doctors about appointments or a plan of action.

In what areas do you expect to excel at IHC? Traditionally I tend to be a pretty meticulous worker, so I think that that will come in handy throughout my internship at IHC. Because a lot of the subject matter we’re dealing with is sensitive, one needs to be careful and thorough when completing a task and I think that I can do just that.

What made you chose the IHC internship as opposed to other groups? Though I applied for other internships, the one at IHC appealed the most to me because I thought it would give me a great overview of both the healthcare and the non-profit industries. There is a good balance between logistical work done in the office and patient interaction in the field and that’s what made this internship so attractive to me.

Name: Kate Amrhein

Age: 21 years old

Place of Birth: Richmond, Virginia

Occupation: Student

How did you first get involved with IHC? How did you hear about IHC?

The first time I heard about IHC I was actually in the hospital for outpatient surgery. While I was waiting to be discharged, one of the nurses on staff suggested I contact IHC after discovering that I was a Nursing and Spanish major. Long after, I researched IHC on their website and was touched by their mission. I inquired about volunteering over the summer and was informed that internships are also available, so I naturally jumped at the opportunity.

What was your first impression of IHC? How did you imagine your day to day work activities to go?

I was extremely impressed with IHC from the start. Not only was I impressed by their goals and values, but since I have started interning here I have found that they are very organized and efficient. With such a lean staff, they do an exceptional job providing clear objectives for the interns as well as providing excellent support for the families through the We Bring program. The IHC staff truly work as a team.

What do you hope to learn while interning at IHC?

While interning at IHC, I hope to spend time with the families and learn more about the medical care and the network which IHC works through to provide care for the children. I also hope to learn some cultural practices and beliefs of the families related to health care and medicine.

What are your feelings about your internship at IHC? Apprehensive? Prepared?

A slight degree of anxiety comes with any new job or internship, but I am truly excited to work with IHC and the families they bring to Richmond for care. IHC is the perfect fit for my studies in Nursing and Spanish.

What do you expect will be your greatest challenge in interning at IHC?

The only challenge I could anticipate is difficulty with a language barrier. Although I have studied Spanish for years, it is not my native language, and languages vary from country to country. Thus, different accents and even different vocabulary can present a slight barrier to communication.

In what areas do you expect to excel at IHC?

I absolutely love working with children. I have always related well to children, and am very interested in learning about other cultures. I believe my greatest strength will be working with the children, and I also hope to organize successful food drives.

What made you chose the IHC internship as opposed to other groups?

IHC is the perfect fit for me. My passions for health care, multicultural experiences, Spanish, and working with children are all combined into one position. Although I am only an intern, it feels great to work with an organization that truly changes peoples’ lives and provides care for those in great need.

One Response to Meet IHC Summer Interns Venkat & Kate

  1. Sarah Sloan says:

    Thanks to Kate and Venkat for all of their help this summer! We couldn’t do this work without our talented, dedciated interns!

Leave a Reply

